•  Music 2015
  Brita Falch-Leutert & Dan Glasu
Text selection from “The Book of Job”
Composed by: Egil Hovland
Performed by: Brita Falch-Leutert (organ), Dan Glasu (voice)
„Job - suite no. 2 for organ” (composed in 1973), is one of Egil Hovland’s (1924-2013) principal organ works. This work has 7 movements composed to a selection of texts from „The Book of Job”. Sometimes the music is like clear paintings of the text - sometimes free and more fabulating. Just like the story of Hiob the music is occasionally very dramatic and the organist has to use elbows and matchsticks as additional effects. „Job suite” is a strong expression of suffering of the soul and of the world. The composer weaves text and music together and it is reflecting the suffering, the struggle and the victory of Job. Although this music is written in a rather modern style, it also gives inexperienced listeners a strong experience. The marvellous organ in the Evangelic Cathedral of Sibiu is just perfect for this performance.

      © Costin Chesnoiu